'The Atheist's Bible: Diderot's 'Elements de physiologie' by Caroline Warman is the winner (jointly) of the R. Gapper Book Prize 2021 for best book in French Studies.

Peace and Democratic Society (epub)

Peace and Democratic Society (epub) Amartya Sen (Editor)
epub ISBN: 978-1-906924-48-5 £0.00
mobi ISBN: 978-1-906924-49-2 £0.00
Paperback ISBN: 978-1-906924-39-3 £9.95

This ebook has been prepared in a general .epub format which can be read by any compatible device, but is particularly appropriate for devices using Adobe Digital Editions, such as the Sony ReaderThis ebook is available for immediate download as an epub file (1.8MB). Downloading instructions will be sent by email on completion of payment.

We have also created two versions optimised for reading on iPads or Nooks:
iPad version
Nook version

If you have a Kindle you require a .mobi version instead:
Kindle version

Many reading devices that do not use either epub or mobi formats are able to read pdf files (but please check that your particular device can read pdf files before purchase):
pdf version

For further information about the compatibility of our versions with your device click here.


Part II. CIVIL PATHS TO PEACE: Report of the Commonwealth Commission on Respect and Understanding

Members of the Commission
Executive Summary
1. Why do Respect and Understanding Matter?    
2. The Nature and Nurture of Violence    
3. Poverty, Inequality and Humiliation    
4. History, Grievance and Conflict    
5. Political Participation
6. The Role of Media and Communication    
7. Young People and Education    
8. Multilateralism and the International Order    
9. The Way Forward and Conclusions    
Afterward: Original preface and letter of presentation to the Report
Appendix: Written submissions to the Commonwealth Commission on Respect and Understanding
Amartya Sen is the Thomas W. Lamont University Professor and Professor of Economics and Philosophy at Harvard University. He is also a senior fellow at the Harvard Society of Fellows, distinguished fellow of All Souls College, Oxford and a Fellow of Trinity College, Cambridge, where he also served as Master from 1998 until 2004. He won the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences in 1998.