Due to Christmas and New Year Holiday season we may experience shipping delays. We apologise for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.


Philippe D. Tortell

Published On


Page Range

pp. 9-12

Print Length

3 pages

Earth Sounds

  • Philippe D. Tortell (author)
This chapter presents two embedded musical compositions drawn from various environmental climate data, offering listeners a stark audio-perspective on the impacts of humans on the climate system over the past century. The first, Ice Core Walk, is a musical representation of temperature and CO2 data taken from the 3 km-long Vostok ice core in East Antarctica. The second is a clip taken from Earth Symphony, which draws on a wide range of Earth System data sets, and which ‘sonifies’ the data into a musical score by creating a process in which music is performed directly by the data.


Philippe D. Tortell